Loading Events

Virtual Rhode Island LGBTQ+ Archival Film Screening

Join AARP Rhode Island, the Providence Public Library and the Rhode Island Historical Society on Wednesday, October 26, 2022 at 12:00 p.m. ET | 11:00 a.m. CT | 10:00 a.m. MT | 9:00 a.m. PT for a FREE virtual event showcasing Rhode Island LGBTQ+ archival film footage.

The screening will showcase film footage from the Rhode Island LGBTQ+ Community Archive and audio-video recordings from the Rhode Island Historical Society holdings. Topics include Pride parade and celebrations, LGBTQ youth, and creating LGBTQ spaces (bars, performances, etc.). Learn about the importance of film and audio archives to researchers and historians and how you can best preserve your own home movies.

Preserving historical evidence is important so that we can learn from the past and celebrate the communities and lives of those who came before us. Engaging with archival records of the LGBTQ+ experience can be emotional, especially since materials may contain a reflection of oppression and trauma. The program’s goal is to celebrate the lives of LGBTQ+ people in Rhode Island and to honor their legacy with preservation.

This event is FREE, but registration is REQUIRED. Please do not opt out of event-related emails, as you will be emailed a link to join the class via Zoom prior to the event.

You can register for the event here: https://events.aarp.org/event/589b3d5d-b445-48cc-ae55-76a2ab4f0bb6/summary

For more information, contact AARP Rhode Island at riaarp@aarp.org.

Details

Date:
Oct 26
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Event Categories:
,
Event Tags:
, , ,

Location

Zoom

Organizer

RIHS
Phone:
000-000-0000
View Organizer Website
More Upcoming Events
Donor Privacy Policy

The Rhode Island Historical Society’s Commitment to Our Donors

We will not sell, share, or trade our donors’ names or personal information with any other entity. We will not send mailings to our donors on behalf of other organizations. This policy applies to all information received by RIHS on any platform by any means, both online and offline, as well as any electronic, written, or oral communications. To the extent any donations may be processed through a third-party service provider, our donors’ information will only be used for purposes necessary to process the donation.

Website and digital strategy by nabec partners