BY THESE PRESENTS, the undersigned, holder or holders of one (1) membership in good standing in the Rhode Island Historical Society (RIHS), hereby constitutes and appoints Luther W. Spoehr, Ph.D. as nominee and proxy with powers of substitution for and in the name and place of the undersigned, to appear, represent, and cast my/our vote only as I/we specifically instruct in the election of the slate of RIHS Officers and new Trustees to be presented by the RIHS Nominating Committee at the 2013 Annual Meeting of the Members of the RIHS to be held at the Aldrich House, 110 Benevolent Street, Providence, Rhode Island, on Wednesday, November 13th, 2013 at 5:30 p.m., and for such other business as may come before the meeting, or at any adjournment thereof.

Rhode Island Historical Society
Officers and Trustees
Nominations for the 2013-2014 Board Term

Unable to Attend: Vote Now!


Click here to vote electronically


Mail-in your vote – Download Proxy Ballot


Planning to Attend:

Email your RSVP – I plan to attend the Annual Meeting (link to my email: mlupham@rihs.org)


Officers Nominated for Term of One Year

For Chair:

Barry G. Hittner, Esq.

Counselor at Law

For Vice Chair:

James P. Loring, CPA, CFA

Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer

Senior Vice President


For Treasurer:

Nancy K. Cassidy

Executive Counsel

Textron, Inc.

For Secretary:

Sylvia E. Brown

Philanthropy & Donor Advisor

Brown & Fischer

Trustee Nominated for Second Three Year Term

Barbara K. Hart

Vice President Special Assets

Washington Trust Company

Trustees Nominated for Initial Term of Three Years

Jillian Folger-Hartwell

Attorney at Law

Littler Mendelsen PC


Christopher Hurd


Hurd AutoMall


Edward Iannuccilli, M.D.

Physician and Writer


Alexandra Pezzello

Attorney at Law

Partridge Snow & Hahn


Brenda H. Senak

Senior Vice President, Risk Management

Washington Trust Company


The Honorable William E. Smith

District Court Judge

District of Rhode Island


Polly Talbott

Independent consultant and community volunteer

Trustee Nominated for Term of Two Years

Mike Ritz

Executive Director

Leadership Rhode Island

Trustees Nominated for a Return Term of Three Years

Winifred E. Brownell, Ph.D.

Dean of Arts and Sciences

University of Rhode Island


Theodore W. Smalletz

Chief Financial Officer

Gloria Duchin, Inc.